Rosa Barba

born 1972 in Agrigent, lives in Berlin

Subconscious Society (still)
, 2012
C-print (framed)
30 x 60 cm (sheet)
Edition: 3 + 1 AP, signed, dated, exlusively for the GAK
1600 EUR
SOLD OUT

Rosa Barba’s works stage both stories in film and also the carrier medium that helps them to become visible. She always uses traditional recording techniques and presents her contemplative recordings using film and antiquated projectors. A dense structure thus emerges of narration and its presentation and reception.
For her Jahresgabe, for the first time Barba has made a still from one of her films available – the unpublished Subconscious Society (premiere in January 2013 in Manchester). What can be seen is the aerial view of a southern English fenland at low tide. The individual image, which allows visual narration in the film by means of linkage, here becomes an abstract soloist, in which grassy surfaces and empty channels produce a mysterious ornament.
Barba’s work has won several international prizes and she has been honoured with participation in many renowned exhibitions. From summer 2013, she will direct the class for intermedial photography at the University of the Arts in Bremen.

Rosa Barba

geboren 1972 in Agrigent, lebt in Berlin

Subconscious Society (still), 2012
C-Print (gerahmt)
30 x 60 cm (Blatt)
Auflage: 3 + 1 AP, sign., dat., num., exkl. für die GAK
1.600 Euro
VERGRIFFEN

Rosa Barbas Arbeiten inszenieren sowohl Geschichten im Film als auch das Trägermedium, das ihnen zur Sichtbarkeit verhilft. Stets bedient sie sich traditioneller Aufnahmetechniken, präsentiert ihre kontemplativen Aufnahmen auf Film und antiquierten Projektoren. Somit entsteht ein dichtes Gefüge aus Narration und deren Präsentation und Rezeption.
Als Jahresgabe stellt Barba erstmals einen Still aus einem ihrer Filme zur Verfügung – dem unveröffentlichten Subconscious Society (Premiere im Januar 2013 in Manchester). Zu sehen ist die Flugaufnahme einer südenglischen Moorlandschaft bei Ebbe. Das Einzelbild, das im Film durch die Verkettung eine visuelle Narration ermöglicht, wird hier zum abstrakten Solisten, bei dem Grasflächen und leere Priele ein geheimnisvolles Ornament ergeben.
Barbas Werk wurde international mit zahlreichen Preisen und der Teilnahme an renommierten Ausstellungen gewürdigt. Ab dem Sommersemester 2013 wird sie die Klasse für intermediale Fotografie an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen leiten.